Parish Council

Parish councillors conduct the business of the council through a number of committees supported by the parish clerk, all of which are open to the public excluding the Personnel Committee. (For dates, agenda and minutes see the 'Council meetings' tab)

There are eleven (11) parish councillors covering two wards

Village Ward

Cllr Robert Bliss, Chairman of the Council*   (*Ex- officio member of all commitees)

Cllr Jan Holben, Vice – Chairman of the Council * ( Finance, Library & Personnel. Chair Land & Asset Managment sub committee)                              

Cllr Nina Bliss, Chair Finance Committee ( & Planning, Environment committees) 

Cllr Gary Fuller, Chair Planning Committee (& Environment, Personnel committees)




The main committees are:

Parish council meeting



– all councillors



The parish council is a statutory consultee on all planning applications in the parish. Should the parish council object to an application then Shepway Council (the planning authority) will normally pass the application to a committee of district councillors (the 'development control' committee) to consider rather than a council officer deal with the matter under delegated authority.